Friday, November 16, 2018
  [ login ]
IACM Awards 2016

On March 10, 2016, the IACM Awards Committees 2016 held a meeting in Barcelona to discuss each of the IACM Award’s nominees. The quality of the nominees generated an animated discussion among the committee members either present in Barcelona or via video conferencing.

Chair of the IACM Awards Committee was Prof. Eugenio Oñate. 

The members of the Major Awards Committee were Professors I. Babuska, J. S. Chen, L. Demkowicz, C. Farhat, W. K. Liu, M. Papadrakakis, E. Ramm and W. Wall. 

The General Awards Committee responsible for the IACM John Argyris Award for Young Scientists included members of the Major Awards Committee, in addition to Professors A. Lew and K. Takizawa, the two previous Recipients.

The Awards were presented during the Opening Ceremony of the World Congress on Computational Mechanics (WCCM XII) in Seoul, S. Korea, on July 25, 2016. It was a great occasion to honor the awardees.

2016 Awardees:

IACM Congress Medal (Gauss-Newton Medal)

Bernhard A. Schrefler, University of Padua

IACM O.C. Zienkiewicz Award

Carlos A. Mota Soares, Technical University of Lisbon

IACM Computational Mechanics Award

Sergio Idelsohn, CIMNE

IACM John Argyris Award for Young Investigators

Harold S. Park, Boston University
IACM Fellows Award
Javier Bonet
, University of Greenwich

Miguel Cervera, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya

Suvranu De, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Marc Geers, Eindhoven University of Technology

Anthony Gravouil, INSA Lyon

Kazuo Kashiyama, Chuo University

Janusz Orkisz, Cracow University of Technology

Alessandro Reali, University of Pavia