Today, the International Association for Computational Mechanics (IACM) is a well-established professional society, with almost five thousand affiliates worldwide. Its Awards Program has been established to honor individuals who have made significant contributions in basic or applied computational mechanics, and to showcase the work of creative scholarship of its membership to the entire world.

The IACM Awards are conferred every two years. They were designed to recognize members in different age groups and to achieve different purposes: for senior researchers, to celebrate a lifetime achievement; for mid-career researchers, to honor an exceptional accomplishment; and for early career researchers or graduate students, to reward outstanding young research talent for a significant contribution in computational mechanics.

The IACM Computational Mechanics Award is given primarily for contributions to traditional areas such as computational structural/solid mechanics, or computational fluid dynamics. However, it may also be given to recognize contributions outside these specific areas. For example, the Award may be given in recognition of accomplishments in software development, scientific computing, research contributions in computational electromagnetics, semi-conductor device simulation, biomechanics or other areas that are not traditionally embraced by computational structural/solid mechanics or computational fluid dynamics, but which have general applicability to computational mechanics.


Y. Bazilevs, Awardee 2022

Year Awardee(s)
2022 Y. Bazilevs
2020 S. Ghosh
2018 C. Soize
2016 S. Idelsohn
2014 L. Demkowicz
2012 J. S. Chen, W. Wall
2010 C. Felippa, J. Fish, T. Yabe
2008 R. Ohayon and X. Oliver
2006 M. Papadrakakis, P. Wriggers
2004 P. Ladevèze, G. Yagawa
2002 C. Farhat, R. Lewis, W. K. Liu, M. Ortiz, D. R. J. Owen, E. Ramm, B. Schrefler
1998 T. Belytschko, R. de Borst, K. Morgan, R. L. Taylor, T. Tezduyar