Today, the International Association for Computational Mechanics (IACM) is a well-established professional society, with almost five thousand affiliates worldwide. Its Awards Program has been established to honor individuals who have made significant contributions in basic or applied computational mechanics, and to showcase the work of creative scholarship of its membership to the entire world.

The IACM Awards are conferred every two years. They were designed to recognize members in different age groups and to achieve different purposes: for senior researchers, to celebrate a lifetime achievement; for mid-career researchers, to honor an exceptional accomplishment; and for early career researchers or graduate students, to reward outstanding young research talent for a significant contribution in computational mechanics.

The IACM Congress Medal (Gauss-Newton Medal) is the highest award given by IACM. It honors individuals who have made outstanding, sustained contributions in the field of computational mechanics over periods representing substantial portions of their professional careers.

The Award is called Gauss-Newton in recognition of the synergy between mathematics, numerical analysis, and mathematical modeling of physical events that underpin much of the broad field of computational mechanics.

The IACM Congress Medal

JN Reddy, Awardee 2022
Year Awardee(s)
2022 JN. Reddy
2020 X. Oliver
2018 P. Ladevèze
2016 B. A. Schrefler
2014 C. Farhat
2012 W. K. Liu
2010 E. Oñate
2008 E. Ramm
2006 I. Babu s ka
2004 F. Brezzi, D. R. J. Owen
2002 T. Belytschko, R. L. Taylor
1998 T. J. R. Hughes, E. Stein
1994 J. T. Oden
1991 R. H. Gallagher, O. C. Zienkiewicz
1990 J. H. Argyris
1986 R. W. Clough